Message from the Chief Commissioner

Fast Facts About Victoria Police

Fri 3 December 2010

Fast facts about Victoria Police with Constables Chris and Kitty

  • Victoria Police was established on 3 January, 1853.
  • William Henry Fancourt Mitchell was the first Chief Commissioner.
  • In 1853, Victoria Police consisted of 875 policemen, protecting a population of 168,000.
  • Victoria Police today employs around 14,900 staff, including police, public servants, forensic officers, reservists and protective security officers.
  • Victoria Police services are available to the community 24 hours a day, seven-days-a-week.
  • There are more than 328 permanent police stations across Victoria.   
  • The values of Victoria Police are: integrity, leadership, flexibility, respect, support and professionalism.
  • There are over 2300 vehicles in the Victoria Police fleet - these are made up of divisional vans, marked cars, unmarked cars, booze buses, brawler vans and buses.
  • Victoria Police has 46 motorbikes, 32 marked road bikes and 14 off-road bikes.
  • Simon Overland was the 20th Chief Commissioner of Victoria Police.
  • Hon Kim Wells is the Minister for Police and Emergency Services. 
  • Victoria Police is one of the largest public service employers in Victoria.
  • Police conduct more than three million random booze bus tests each year.
  • Victoria has four police regions, each headed by a divisional commander.
  • Victoria Police serves about 5.4 million people in the state, and polices 160,000 kms of roads, 3 million drivers and 3.5 million registered motor vehicles.
  • Victoria Police Dog Squad is currently staffed by 38 specially trained teams - which consist of a handler and their dog.
  • The Victoria Police Mounted Branch stables, located in Southbank, were built in 1912 for 14,000 pounds.  The Mounted Branch still operate out of these stables.
  • 150 policemen and women have lost their lives in the line of duty.

Top of Page
Victoria Police Centre 637 Flinders Street Melbourne 3005 | Ph 03 9247 6666 | Fax 03 9247 5727
Copyright © 2005 State of Victoria. All rights reserved.