VicPol Corporate

Public notice: Melbourne Formula 1 Grand Prix

A Victoria Police Assistant Commissioner has declared the following location as a Designated Place pursuant to Section 3A of the Victoria Police Act 2013 for a period of 12 months or less.

The declared Designated Place will be operating from 00.01 am on Thursday, 7 April, to 11.59 pm on Sunday, 10 April, 2022.

This declaration is necessary to ensure community safety and public reassurance by deploying Victoria Police Protective Services Officers (PSOs) to the declared Designated Place.

Boundary of the declared Designated Place

Area surrounding the Melbourne Formula 1 Grand Prix (Excluding the "event grounds" whereby the public who has paid for admission are allowed to enter including areas relating to the race itself whereby the public does not have access). Excluding the "event grounds", the area to be designated is bordered by:

Flinders St between St Kilda Rd and Spencer St, Melbourne. Spencer St along Clarendon St to City Rd, Southbank. City Rd, Southbank, to Cecil St, Southbank. Cecil St to Albert Rd, Albert Park. Albert Rd along Kerferd Rd to Beaconsfield Pde, Albert Park. From Beaconsfield Pde along Jacka Blvd along Marine Pde to Blessington St, Elwood. From Blessington St to Barkly St, Elwood. From Barkly St to St Kilda Rd, St Kilda. From St Kilda Rd to Flinders St, Melbourne. The boundary that runs along Beaconsfield Pde, Jacka Blvd and Marine Pde is adjacent to Port Phillip Bay. The designated area is to extend to the water line of the bay and is to include the beaches and public places from the carriageway to the waterline.

Refer to below map. This illustrates the geographical boundaries of the declared Designated Place where PSOs can be deployed to.

The PSOs who will be deployed to the declared Designated Place will be exercising their normal legislative powers whilst deployed to the declared Designated Place.

Map of designated area

Map of designated area at Melbourne Formula 1 Grand Prix. Exact description in the copy above.
Map of designated area
Download Map of designated area

Reviewed 06 April 2022

Was this page helpful?