VicPol Corporate

Access and inclusion on the inclusion continuum

The Diversity and Inclusion Program Logic (Appendix 1) provides a schematic representation of how Victoria Police will work towards a truly diverse workplace and inclusive organisation.

The program logic will provide the strategic framework to map future progress through targeted outcomes and action plans. The program logic sets out how we will progress along the Inclusion Continuum, a visual model, which was recently updated to identify five stages on a development continuum.

Each stage describes the diversity and inclusion consciousness and culture of an organisation regarding diversity and inclusion.1

The 2018–2021 action plan used the Inclusion Continuum as a measure of progress on our journey to becoming an inclusive organisation.

In 2018, we considered that the organisation was at the ‘compliant’ (recently renamed ‘reactive’) phase of the continuum. This is based on the level of maturity and disability confidence and capability.2

An updated assessment of Victoria Police’s progress against the Inclusion Continuum following the 2018–2021 action plan evaluation and the organisation’s performance in the Access and Inclusion Index, placed Victoria Police’s disability inclusion still at the reactive level.

Inclusion Continuum

A diagram of the Inclusion Continuum. An assessment of Victoria Police’s disability inclusion placed the organisation at the reactive level. The scale ranges from Exclusive, Reactive, Proactive, Progressive and finishes with Inclusive.
Inclusion Continuum

Exclusive: An organisation that values the dominant group culture, excluding others.

Reactive: Few members from other groups are accepted, yet are expected to conform to dominant norms. Victoria Police's disability inclusion is currently placed at the reactive level.

Proactive: Organisation is internally motivated however, the dominant group notices a challenge to culture, resulting in backlash.

Progressive: Barriers to diversity are actively dismantled in all systems, structures and culture.

Inclusive: All types of diversity are valued. An environment where all people are valued for who they are and what they bring is maintained.

Download the Inclusion Continuum

1 B. Jones and Michael Brazzel 2014, The NTL Handbook of Organization Development and Change: Principles, Practices, and Perspectives.
2 Since 2018 Dr. Angela Workman-Stark has improved the definitions within the Inclusion Continuum to better align to evidence-based diversity and inclusion standards.

The previous Inclusion Continuum (2018) included 6 pillars: exclusive, passive, compliant, proactive, redefining and inclusive. See the 2018–22021 Diversity and Inclusion Framework for expanded definitions.

Reviewed 26 February 2023

Was this page helpful?