Message from the Chief Commissioner

About Victoria Police

Corporate Governance

Release date: Tue 11 October 2016

Last updated: Thu 5 October 2017


Chief Commissioner


Victoria Police is headed by Chief Commissioner Graham Ashton AM and is part of the broader Department of Justice and Regulation portfolio.

The Chief Commissioner of Police (CCP) reports directly to the Minister for Police, the Hon. Lisa Neville MP, and also works closely with the Minister for the Prevention of Family Violence (the Hon. Natalie Hutchins MP) and the Minister for Roads and Road Safety (the Hon. Luke Donnellan MP).

Corporate governance

Victoria Police Executive Command is responsible for setting the strategic direction of Victoria Police, monitoring organisational performance, determining key priorities and risks and managing organisational capacity and capability.

Executive Command is comprised of the Chief Commissioner of Police, three Deputy Commissioners, two Executive Directors and the Chief Information Officer (CIO). Retired Air Chief Marshall Sir Angus Houston AK AC AFC is an independent member of Executive Command.

The Victoria Police Command group includes the Chief Commissioner, Deputy Commissioners, Executive Directors, Assistant Commissioners, Commanders, and all other Executive Officers.

The Corporate Advisory Group (CAG) provides strategic advice to Victoria Police leadership on a comprehensive program of organisational reform. The CAG is chaired by Sir Angus Houston.

For more information regarding corporate governance and the roles and membership of committees refer to the Victoria Police Annual Report 2015-16 (Appendix E).



Top of Page
Victoria Police Centre 637 Flinders Street Melbourne 3005 | Ph 03 9247 6666 | Fax 03 9247 5727
Copyright © 2005 State of Victoria. All rights reserved.